Carroll Students Perform in All State Music Groups
Westminster, MD
03/30/2017 08:30 AM

In celebration of Music in Our Schools Month, Carroll County Public Schools is pleased to announce that 34 students were selected for slots in the Maryland All State Music groups.


The students were selected following a rigorous audition process involving students from across the state (junior ensembles – grades 7-9 and senior ensembles – grades 10-12). Students auditioned on the same literature for each instrument/voice group.


Carroll County students earned three out of the four slots for alto saxophone available for the entire state. Carroll County also earned more slots than some of the larger school districts in the state and other school districts in the same approximate size range.


Of particular note, Chance Caprarola, an eighth grade student at East Middle School, was the only student from Carroll County selected to participate in the All State Junior Band, in which he played mid tom, marimba, and 4 toms and was 4th chair. For tryouts, he was required to audition on snare, timpani, marimba, bass drum, crash cymbals, and tambourine. He made 1st Chair All County for percussion for the past three years in grades 6, 7 and 8. He joined the Winters Mill High School Marching Band the summer before his 8th grade year, playing tenors. He is a member of the McDaniel College Community Band for percussion and has been a member of the East Middle School Jazz Band for 3 years.


Congratulations to the following members of the All State music groups:

All State Junior Band (grades 6-9)

Chance Caprarola – East Middle

All State Junior Chorus (grades 6-9)

Alexa Fanning – Winters Mill

Rachel Jancarek – Liberty

Abigail Lewin – Oklahoma Road

Lindsay Moravec – Oklahoma Road

Saralynn Mitchell – Oklahoma Road

Madeline Pope – Liberty

Paul Dietz – Oklahoma Road 

All State Junior Chorus (grades 6-9) - continued

Joseph Schuman – Oklahoma Road

Alex Parrott – Francis Scott Key

Alyssa Young (alternate) – Oklahoma Road

Nicholas Culkin (alternate) – South Carroll

All State Senior Band (grades 10-12)

Stephanie Treat – Liberty

Erich Delles – Liberty

Elena Rippeon – Francis Scott Key

Logan Hartung – Francis Scott Key

Samuel Kraus – Liberty

Ethan Brown – Francis Scott Key

Jay Fenner – Liberty

Andrew Olson – Liberty

Josh Alford – Liberty

Sean Webster (alternate) – Winters Mill 

All State Senior Orchestra (grades 10-12)

Yee Lynn Lee – Liberty

Hannah We – Century

All State Senior Chorus (grades 10-12)

Audrey Wiswakarma – Francis Scott Key

Lauren Bishop – Liberty

Eric Gabriel – Francis Scott Key

Jon Montijo – Liberty

Jeremy Lewin – Liberty

Jacob Miller – South Carroll

Jack Perdue – Century

All State Women’s Chorus (grades 10-12)

Grace Lowe – Westminster

McKenna King – South Carroll

Julia Stonesifer – Francis Scott Key

The All-State concerts were held at Morgan State University and Perry Hall High School in February and March.

Karl Stewart
Powered By CC-Assist.NET